

## IUMRS Global Leadership and Service Award



In cooperation with the STOA Panel, and the MEPs Paul Rübig (EPP), Carlos Zorrinho (S&D), José Inácio Faria (ALDE), Carlos Coelho (EPP) and Marisa Matias (GUE), the International Union of Materials Research Societies (IUMRS) announces the Second Global Leadership and Service Award that honours individuals in materials research, education and policy to take place at the European Parliament on November 17th. For 2016, the Award honours outstanding personalities for their distinguished leadership and service to the international community in the field of Advanced Materials for Energy and Transportation, in alignment with the internationalization of science and the convergence of fields in research and education.



Professor M. Graça Carvalho, former minister of the Portuguese government, driving force in the launch of the European Institute of Technology, rapporteur of the Horizon 2020 program and Policy Officer at the Scientific Advice Mechanism Unit, DG RTD at European Commission.

Professor Sukekatsu Ushioda, former president of the National Institute of Materials Science (NIMS) and head of the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP) of Japan.





Professor Wan Gang, Minister of Science and Technology of China, for his establishment of the New Energy Automobile Engineering Centre and his active promotion of science and technology between China and its world partners.

## Programme

10:30 Registration

- 11:00 Welcome address by MEPs Carlos Zorrinho, Carlos Coelho and Commissioner
  - Carlos Moedas (video stream)
- **11:10** The IUMRS Global Leadership and Service Award initiative, by Bob Chang, Secretary General of IUMRS
- **11:20** Welcome address by Dr. Paul Rübig, Chair of STOA Panel
- 11:30 The Chair of the STOA Panel Paul Rübig present the first award to Prof. Wan Gang
- **11:40** MEP José Inácio Faria present the award to Prof. Graça Carvalho, followed by the acceptance speech
- **11:50** MEP Carlos Zorrinho present the award to Prof. Sukekatsu Ushioda, followed by the acceptance speech

**12:00** Closing remarks by Rodrigo Martins, Chair of the IUMRS Awards Committee **12:30** Lunch, with:

Welcome address and speech to the Lauda by Dr. Hanns-Ulrich Habermeier, President of IUMRS The Materials Impact in the Society, speech by the Director for Industrial Technologies at DG Research and Innovation, Peter Dröll

13:50 Closing remarks by MEPs Carlos Zorrinho and José Inácio Faria

## **EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT**, room 6Q1 Rue Wiertz, Brussels, Belgium Thursday, 17<sup>th</sup> November 2016, 11h00



